Structure & Governance

IFRIS is a scientific interest group, created for five years in 2007 and renewed until 2020. It includes the following institutions:

IFRIS is governed by a board in which sit the representatives of each institution. This Council was chaired by Catherine PARADEISE, Professor at the University Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée, from 2007 to 2012. It is now chaired by Gilles ROUSSEL, President of the University Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée. Catherine PARADEISE remains Honorary President.

A Scientific Council validates its scientific and strategic options. Its members are international experts in the research fields of IFRIS.


  • Rigas Arvanitis, Director
  • Ashveen Peerbaye, Deputy Director
  • Marianne Noël, In charge of international activities
  • Julie Rust, General Secretary

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee meets each month and is responsible for the scientific steering:

  • Rigas Arvanitis (CEPED, IRD)
  • Soraya Boudia (CERMES3, Université Paris Descartes)
  • David Demortain (LISIS, INRA)
  • David Flacher (CEPN, Université Paris 13)
  • Hélène Guillemot (Centre A. Koyré, CNRS)
  • Ashveen Peerbaye (LISIS, UPEM)

Laboratories Committee

The laboratories Committee meet at least once a year and provides the link with IFRIS research units. It is composed of representatives from each research unit.

Administration team

IFRIS administration team works for both IFRIS and LISIS abd is composed of Julie Rust (General Secretary), Valérie Duband (Accounting), Kevin Agblo (Communication), Dorine Valy (Management, Contracts and agreements), Béatrice Farge (Human Resources ), Valérie Despeyroux (Management).