LabEx

Logo_labex_EN_taglineIn 2011, IFRIS became the coordinator of the SITES (Science, Innovation and Technology in Society) LabEx (Laboratory of Excellence) dedicated to research in the field of Science, Technology and Innovation in Society. This large research programme is financed by the ANR (Agence Nationale de la Recherche), the French National Research Agency, within the framework of the “Investing for the Future” programme. It is going to structure IFRIS’ activities until 2016. The aim is to reinforce the analytical capabilities of the co-production of knowledge, innovation, and social and political order at different scales, ranging from the local to the global, and in both the past and the present.

LabEx SITES is a territorialized thematic network carried by the PRES (centre of research and higher education) of Université Paris-Est (ESIEE, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech, UPEM), the PRES HESAM (CNAM), the PRES PSL (EHESS), the CNRS, the INRA, the IRD and Université Paris 13. It brings together over 150 researchers working in 7 different research groups. In the long run, LabEx SITES will primarily be located on two sites: the Cité Descartes of the Paris-Est PRES and the Condorcet Campus.

The primary objective of LabEx SITES is to initiate new research and renew the research agendas. The main idea is to promote the analysis of the co-production of the regimes of science and knowledge, innovation, and social and political order, at different scales ranging from the local to the global, in contemporary times and throughout history. The research will aim to shed light on the three major challenges of “knowledge societies”: the renewal of innovation and of policies on innovation linked to the distributed nature of knowledge production; the government of technoscience via flexible combinations of public support, regulation through risk, and legitimization conflicts in the public sphere; and Earth politics analysed through the articulation of different scales, from territorial to global issues. Classical methods for analysing practices, discourses and institutional forms are supplemented by a digital platform and by methods for analysing multi-level dynamics.

The second objective is to train a new generation of researchers in the field of Science and Technology in Society. LabEx SITES is in the process of creating a national doctoral training programme (the “Doctoral College”) which will be an equivalent of the training programmes in other leading European centres. It will increase the scale of the training of PhD students and is expected to attract many European students.

The third objective of LabEx SITES is to promote access to research and contribute to its wider use by the different stakeholders. Many tools will be implemented, including: training courses for professionals; forums dedicated to specific themes (e.g. life science and society), which will be planned in collaboration with institutions from the scientific world, the economic world or civil society; outputs catering to a wide audience (e.g. news briefs on science in society, short books, lectures, etc.), and an interactive space on the internet.

The fourth objective is to reinforce the international attractiveness of Paris and surrounding areas by creating a Chair of excellence which will allow three to four international researchers a year to be invited, and by creating a system of doctoral and post doctoral grants.

TOP

LabEx

En 2011, l’IFRIS est devenu coordonnateur du Laboratoire d’Excellence SITES (Sciences, Innovation et Techniques en Société), dédié aux  recherches dans le domaine des Etudes des Sciences, des Techniques et de l’Innovation en Société. Ce programme de recherche de grande importance est financé par l’Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) dans le cadre du programme d’investissements d’avenir. Il va structurer les activités de l’IFRIS jusqu’en 2016, l’objectif étant de renforcer les capacités d’analyse de la co-production des connaissances, de l’innovation et de l’ordre politique et social, à différentes échelles, du local au global, à l’époque contemporaine ainsi que dans l’histoire.

Le LabEx SITES est un réseau thématique territorialisé porté par la Communauté d’Universités et Établissements Paris-Est (ESIEE, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech, UPEM), le PRES HESAM (CNAM), le PRES PSL (EHESS), le CNRS, l’INRA, l’IRD et l’Université Paris 13. Il regroupe plus de 150 chercheurs appartenant à 7 groupes de recherche. A terme, le LabEx SITES sera principalement localisé sur deux  sites, la Cité Descartes de la Comue Paris-Est et le Campus Condorcet.

Le premier objectif du LabEx SITES est d’initier des recherches nouvelles, de renouveler les agendas de  recherche. L’idée maîtresse est de promouvoir l’analyse de la coproduction des régimes de sciences et de  connaissance, de l’innovation et de l’ordre politique et social, à différentes échelles, du local au global, à  l’époque contemporaine ainsi que dans l’histoire. Les recherches viseront à éclairer trois grands enjeux des  « sociétés de la connaissance » : le renouveau de l’innovation et des politiques de l’innovation lié au  caractère distribué de la production des connaissances ; le gouvernement des technosciences à travers des  combinaisons flexibles de soutien public, de régulation par les risques, et des conflits de légitimation dans  l’espace public ; les politiques de la Terre analysées au prisme de l’articulation des différentes échelles, du  territoire aux questions globales. Les méthodes classiques de l’analyse des pratiques, des discours et des  formes institutionnelles sont complétées par des méthodes d’analyse des dynamiques multi-niveaux et par  une plateforme numérique.

Le second objectif est de former une nouvelle génération de chercheurs dans le domaine des STIS. Le  LabEx SITES créera une formation doctorale nationale (le « Collège Doctoral ») équivalente aux formations des grands centres  européens, qui permettra de changer d’échelle dans la formation des docteurs et d’attirer des cohortes  d’étudiants européens.

Le troisième objectif du LabEx est de favoriser l’accessibilité aux recherches et de contribuer à leur plus  grande utilisation par différentes parties prenantes. Plusieurs outils seront mis en œuvre : création d’un  ensemble de formations pour les professionnels ; constitution de forums dédiés à des thématiques  spécifiques (par exemple : sciences de la vie et société) en collaboration avec des institutions scientifiques,  du monde économique ou de la société civile ; productions dédiées à une large audience (Brèves sur la  science en société, livres courts, conférences) ; espace internet interactif.

Le quatrième objectif est de renforcer l’attractivité internationale de la région parisienne en créant une  chaire d’excellence permettant d’inviter 3 à 4 chercheurs de niveau international par an, et en créant un  système de bourses doctorales et post doctorales.

TOP