Presentation

We live in societies where science and technology jointly contribute to constantly recomposing society, economics and the environment, where the production of knowledge is intimately linked to all kinds of power, and where innovation constitutes a universal good. IFRIS focuses on all these issues, on the ways in which knowledge, know-how and technology are deployed, have taken shape in society, culture and politics, are produced and passed on, and create worlds, as well as the modes of action and relationship with others, and the “nature” which they suggest.

As well as devoting itself to Science and Technology Studies, IFRIS mobilizes historians, anthropologists and sociologists, as well as researchers in management science and politics.

The diversity of the fields which IFRIS studies constitutes one of its essential assets: the worlds of science and technology, the social and economic regulation of activities and techno-scientific products, agriculture and food safety, public health and biomedicine, climatic change, environmental biodiversity and environmental health, and the lifestyles afforded by the internet and ICTs.

From a conceptual point of view, IFRIS approaches these matters from a different angle, based on the decisive changes that have taken place in the last decades in the social sciences. It zooms in on the blind spots and on what the social sciences have rendered invisible.

  1. Without forgetting the importance of the emergence of the new socio-technical arrangements, and without losing track either of the complexity of rearrangements, or the agency of institutions and persons, IFRIS seeks to articulate them to the asymmetries of power, to the autonomy of economic forms, to the rigidity of institutional forms, to technological and regulatory inertia, and to their ability to shape worlds. Studying how REACH operates thus requires not only the tracing of molecules, the understanding of the creation of ontologies, and the negotiation of danger thresholds, but also effective implementation and research on what has not been done. It requires an understanding of the role of expert’s ways of defining things, that of toxicology, as well as that of law and regulations. This, in turn, requires that the role of associations be identified, and that the key part played by firms be demonstrated.
  2. We do not wish to limit the scope of our work to situations in the global North, and like to approach issues from the viewpoint of the South as well. We are particularly interested in the power struggles over patents and generic and essential medicines,  in the development of an “industrial” Ayurvedic pharmacopoeia, and in the epistemic and political tensions that exist between agroecology and agribusiness in Brazil.
  3. Without in any way underestimating the weight of the biggest countries, we also aim to understand how transnational and/or global forms operate, whether they are performed by WWF, Monsanto or the IPCC today, or the Jesuits or the East India companies a few centuries ago. We look at how they bring about new ontologies (e.g. “global climate”) or how they are coextensive to the “worldwide web”.
  4. Finally, we pay more attention to certain actors. We look at the economic players first, around “multi-player round tables” today, for the large agricultural productions of the South, or around the WTO and the way it mobilizes knowledge and sound science. We also look at established global players: the OECD, the World Bank and the Codex Alimentarius. Although civil society remains dynamic, examining the way public opinion on technology is “governed” or how ignorance is actively produced interests us to the highest degree.

 

IFRIS : a collaborative research institute on research, innovation and society

 

Logo IFRIS FR

  IFRIS, since 2007, is a consortium of research units in Ile-de-France (Paris and surrounding areas) working on issues related to    the interactions between science, technology and society, as well as research and innovation policies.

Since 2011, thanks to a 9-year grant awarded by the International Programme for the Future ( Programme International d’Avenir) called LabEx SITES (Laboratory of Excellence – Science Innovation and Technology in Society), IFRIS can support doctoral and post-doctoral research grants, exploratory research projects, actions in favour of doctoral and student circulation (summer school, travel grants to students) and training actions that associate several of our teams.

IFRIS brings together around 150 researchers and academics and nearly sixty doctoral students affiliated to nine research groups:

IFRIS is concerned with renewing the research agenda by joining the STS field and work on research policies and innivation around issues such as : the rôle of history  in our understanding , the links to power, the attention to peripheral sciences and non-hegemonic countries, the relations between quantitative and non-quantitative tools. The main lins of research have been devoted to renewing innovation policy studies and policies, the transformation of knowledge production regimes, the global governance of research and system Earth. IFRIS has also developed a free for all digital platform of textual analysis based on new analytical tools (Cortext).

The diversity of the fields which IFRIS studies constitutes one of its essential assets: the worlds of science and technology; the funding and regulation institutions of research; the social and economic regulation of techno-scientific activities and products; agriculture and food security; public health and biomedicine; the management of risks and contamination; the patenting of life and the management of the commons; the international circulation of medicines; climatic change, biodiversity and environmental health; lifestyles made possible by the internet and ICTs. These fields show the diversity of economic, political, global or local actors, represntative of civil society and public entities. IFRIS promotes also the dialogue between research and non-research actors, by promoting an alliance between science and society.

 

TOP

Présentation

Nous vivons dans des sociétés où les sciences et les techniques concourent à recomposer constamment le social, l’économique et l’environnement, des sociétés où la production de connaissances est intimement liée aux pouvoirs de tous types, des sociétés où l’innovation constitue un bien universel. L’IFRIS s’intéresse à ces questions, à la manière dont se déploient les savoirs, les savoir-faire et les technologies, à la manière dont ils ont pris forme en société, en culture et en politique, à leurs modes de fabrication et transmission, à leur manière de faire des mondes, aux modes d’action et de relations aux autres et à la « nature » qu’ils suggèrent.

En parallèle aux études sur les sciences et techniques (STS), l’IFRIS mobilise des historiens, des anthropologues et des sociologues, les sciences de gestion et les sciences politiques.

Les terrains à partir desquels travaille l’IFRIS sont divers, ce qui constitue un atout essentiel : il étudie les mondes scientifiques et techniques ; la régulation sociale et économique des activités et des produits techno-scientifiques ; l’agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire ; la santé publique et la biomédecine ; le changement climatique, la biodiversité et la santé environnementale ; mais encore les formes de vie permises par Internet et les TIC.

Conceptuellement, il s’agit pour l’IFRIS de déplacer les manières de prendre les questions, de prendre appui sur les mutations décisives des dernières décennies dans les sciences sociales pour insister aujourd’hui sur leurs points aveugles et ce qu’elles ont rendu invisible.

  1. Sans oublier l’importance de l’émergence et des nouveaux assemblages socio-techniques, sans perdre de vue la complexité des réarrangements ou les capacités d’action (agency) des institutions et personnes, l’IFRIS vise à les articuler aux asymétries de pouvoir, à l’autonomie des formes économiques, aux rigidités des formes institutionnelles, aux inerties technologiques et réglementaires – et à leurs capacités de façonner les mondes. Etudier les modes de fonctionnement de REACH requiert ainsi de suivre les molécules, de saisir la création des ontologies, la négociation des seuils de danger – mais aussi les mises en œuvre effectives, et ce qui n’est pas fait. Cela requiert de saisir le rôle des langages experts, celui de la toxicologie mais aussi du juridique et du réglementaire. Cela requiert de repérer le rôle des associations, mais aussi de montrer le rôle central des industriels.
  2. Nous souhaitons aussi ne pas nous limiter aux situations du Nord et entrer par des terrains et des questionnements venus des Suds. Les batailles de pouvoir autour des brevets, des génériques et des médicaments essentiels nous préoccupent, comme le développement d’une pharmacopée ayurvédique « industrielle » et les tensions épistémiques et politiques entre agro-écologie et agrobusiness au Brésil.
  3. Sans sous-estimer le moins du monde le poids des grands états, nous visons aussi à comprendre comment opèrent les formes trans-nationales et/ou « globales », qu’elles soient portées par WWF ou Monsanto, le GIEC, les jésuites ou les compagnies des Indes il y a quelques siècles. Nous considérons en quoi celles-ci font advenir de nouvelles ontologies (« le climat global » par exemple) ou comment elles sont coextensives au « world wide web ».
  4. Nous portons enfin une plus grande attention à certains acteurs. Les acteurs économiques d’abord – autour des « tables rondes multi-acteurs » aujourd’hui, pour les grandes productions agricoles du Sud ; ou autour de l’OMC et de la manière dont elle mobilise les savoirs, la sound science. Mais encore les acteurs globaux institués : l’OCDE, la Banque Mondiale ou le Codex Alimentarius. Il est certes une vivacité maintenue de la société civile mais regarder comment l’opinion publique sur les techniques est « gouvernée », ou comment l’ignorance est activement produite, nous intéresse au plus haut point.

IFRIS : un institut collaboratif sur la recherche, l’innovation et la société

L’IFRIS est, depuis 2007, un consortium d’Unités de Recherche en Ile-de-France qui travaillent sur les questions liées aux interactions entre science, techniques et sociétés ainsi que politiques de recherche et d’innovation. L’IFRIS a défini un projet de LabEx SITES obtenu en 2011.

L’IFRIS, grâce au Labex SITES, peut renforcer la recherche au moyen de bourses post-doctorales, de projets de recherche exploratoires, d’actions de circulation doctorale et étudiante (école d’été, missions pour les étudiants) et de formation qui associent plusieurs équipes de recherche. L’IFRIS gère aussi le Domain d’intérêt majeur de la Région Ile-de-France IS2-IT qui permet de financer des bourses de doctorat.

L’IFRIS regroupe plus de 150 chercheurs et enseignants chercheurs et près de soixante-dix doctorants dans neuf unités de recherche.

L’IFRIS s’est attaché à renouveler l’agenda de la recherche dans le domaine en joignant les intérêts des études sur la science et la technologie et des travaux sur les politiques de recherche et d’innovation autour des questions comme le rôle de l’histoire, le lien au pouvoir, l’attention aux périphéries et aux pays non-hégémoniques, la mise en relation d’outils d’analyse quantitatifs et qualitatifs. Les principaux axes de réflexion se sont portés sur le renouvellement des politiques d’innovation, la transformation des régimes de production des connaissances et la gouvernance globale de la recherche et du système Terre. L’IFRIS a aussi développé une plateforme numérique d’analyse textuelle fondée sur des outils d’analyse novateurs (Cortext).

 Les terrains à partir desquels travaille l’IFRIS sont divers, ce qui constitue un atout essentiel : les mondes scientifiques et techniques ; les institutions de financement et de régulation de la recherche ; la régulation sociale et économique des activités et des produits techno-scientifiques ; l’agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire ; la santé publique et la biomédecine ; la gestion politique et sociale des risques et des pollutions ; la brevetabilité du vivant ; la circulation des médicaments et des pratiques médicales au niveau mondial ; le changement climatique, la biodiversité et la santé environnementale ; les formes de vie permises par Internet et les TIC. Ces terrains font apparaître la diversité des acteurs, économiques, politiques, mondiaux ou locaux, acteurs publics et représentatifs de la société civile. Enfin, l’IFRIS s’intéresse à mettre en œuvre un dialogue entre chercheurs et acteurs non-scientifiques et en favorisant une alliance entre la science et la société.