IFRIS Teams

Centre Alexandre Koyré (CAK)

The Koyré Centre has a long tradition of research in the History of Science and Technology. The activities of the Centre’s researchers concern the “study and history of scholarly cultures”. They are grouped around the following themes: science in the public sphere; circulation as a space for producing knowledge (taking into account the different scales of circulation: urban, national, regional, European and global); corpuses and archives in the history of science; the environment, the climate and sustainable development; the actors, institutions and governance. These themes embrace and transcend many disciplines, including mathematics, physics, chemistry, medicine, biology, natural history and the humanities.

A dozen researchers and associate researchers from the Centre are concentrating their research on “Globalization, the environment and the governance of science: current problems, historical issues” and are associated with IFRIS.

The idea is to further our understanding of how knowledge is produced and applied in society, especially scientific knowledge and its potential for technical and political performation. This research thrust aims to investigate, among other things, the products that this knowledge puts into circulation (e.g. books, atlases, reports, norms, satellites, etc.). It studies the variety of spaces in which knowledge is constituted, and how different types of knowledge interact and are exchanged through people, technology, norms, systems, products, and commercial or regulatory practices. It also concentrates on the arrangements (agencements) and governance of nature, economics, politics and science.

This research rests on a number of surveys carried out in complementary fields. These include: the government, production and circulation of knowledge pertaining to the climate, space, “natural” space, the environment and biodiversity; the regulation of techno-products (from chemical to nuclear); North-South and South-South relations; institutional games (for instance that of the East-Indian Company in the past, or of the World Bank today); and so on.

The programme covers different time periods, from the 18th century to the present day. This deliberate choice constitutes a research strategy and a heuristic tool. A toing and froing between the past and the present and between countries of the North and the South systematically revolves around a particular issue – the notion of risk, for example, or disputes over technological trajectories.

For further information, please see the 2012-2013 Programme of the “Climatic Change and Biosphere: Expertise, Future and Policies” seminar.

Institutions to which it is affiliated: EHESS, MNH, CNRS
Website: www.koyre.cnrs.fr

Liste des membres : Armatte Michel , Kasperski Tatiana , Lamy Jerome, Vieille-Blanchard Elodie, Néron Adeline, Viard-Crétat Aurore, Bergeron Andree, Emanuel Bertrand, Beuscart Jean-Samuel, Bonneuil Christophe, Dahan Amy, Baya-Laffite Nicolas, Baudry Jerome, Briday Regis, Cirac Claveras Gemma, Dauguet Benoit, Remi Durand, Fenzi Marianna, Fulleringer Ludovic, Mahrane Yannick, Patinaux Leny, Pessis Celine, Radtka Catherine, Jean-Baptiste Fressoz, Graber Frederic, Fabien Locher, Angeli - Aguiton Sara

TOP

Sites des équipes de l'IFRIS

Centre Alexandre Koyré (CAK)

Le Centre Koyré abrite une longue tradition de recherches en histoire des sciences et des techniques. Les activités des chercheurs du centre portent sur l’« Étude et l’histoire des cultures savantes ». Elles se déclinent selon les thèmes suivants : les sciences dans l’espace public ; la circulation comme lieu de production des savoirs (en tenant compte des différentes échelles de circulation : urbaine, nationale, régionale, européenne et mondiale) ; les corpus et archives en histoire des sciences ; l’environnement, le climat et le développement durable ; les acteurs, institutions et gouvernance, et s’inscrivent, tout en dépassant les limites disciplinaires, en histoire des mathématiques, de la physique, de la chimie, de la médecine, de la biologie, de l’histoire naturelle et des sciences de l’homme.

Une dizaine de chercheurs et chercheurs associés du Centre consacre leurs recherches autour du champ thématique « Mondialisation, environnement et gouvernance des sciences : problèmes actuels, questions historiques » et sont associés à l’IFRIS.

Il s’agit d’appréhender les savoirs tels qu’ils se déploient et se fabriquent en société, notamment les savoirs scientifiques et leurs capacités de performation technique et politique. Cet axe de recherches a, entre autres, pour objet les produits que ces savoirs mettent en circulation (livres, atlas, rapports, normes, satellites, …) et étudie la variété des espaces de constitution de ces savoirs, leurs modes d’interaction et de circulation via des personnes, des techniques, des normes, des dispositifs, des produits, des pratiques commerciales ou de régulation. Cet axe de recherches se concentre également sur les modes d’agencements et de gouvernement de la nature, de l’économie, du politique et du scientifique.

Ces recherches reposent sur un ensemble d’enquêtes dans des champs complémentaires : gouvernement, fabrication et circulation des savoirs en matières climatiques ; en matières spatiales, en matières d’espaces « naturels », d’environnement et de biodiversité ; en matière de régulation des techno-produits (de la chimie au nucléaire) ; en matière de relations Nord-Sud et Sud-Sud ; de jeux d’institutions (celui de la Compagnie des Indes ou de la Banque Mondiale aujourd’hui), etc.

Ce programme se déploie aussi du passé (18e siècle) au très contemporain. Ce choix délibéré constitue une stratégie de recherche et un outil heuristique : un va-et-vient est systématiquement construit, autour d’une question – la notion de risque par exemple, ou la contestation des trajectoires technologiques – entre passé et présent et entre Nords et Suds.

Voir le Programme 2012-2013 du séminaire « Changement Climatique et Biosphère: Expertise, Futurs et Politiques ».

Institutions de rattachement : EHESS, MNH, CNRS
Site internet : www.koyre.cnrs.fr

Liste des membres : Kasperski Tatiana, Baudry Jérôme, Mahrane Yannick, Korczac Agatha, Gagnebien Anne, Angeli - Aguiton Sara, Armatte Michel, Dauguet Benoît, Bergeron Andrée, Cirac Claveras Gemma, Bonneuil Christophe, Buffet Christophe, Carnino Guillaume, Dahan Amy, Rémi Durand, Fages Volny, Fenzi Marianna, Fressoz Jean-Baptiste, Fulleringer Ludovic, Graber Frédéric, Guillemot Hélène, Lamy Jérôme, Néron Adeline, Patinaux Leny, Pessis Céline, Radtka Catherine, Raj Kapil, Sim Hana, Van Hemert Mieke, Viard-Crétat Aurore, Vieille-Blanchard Elodie, Emanuel Bertrand
TOP